Work Allocations Tool (05:56)

Back to new features

Welcome to another new features video. This video will demonstrate StarTraq DOME’s new work allocation tool.

The work allocation tool has been created to help administrators, managers or superusers to allocate offences from multiple workspaces to multiple users in the DOME.

This tool is available on DOME version 5.20 and above. To access the work allocation tool, click on the ‘Tools’ menu and select ‘Work Allocation’. There is also a shortcut button in your workspace dialogue box.

This login is the same as your usual DOME login. Displayed will be the allocations tool.

In the top left corner will be the version of the DOME currently installed. To go back to the classic DOME inbox, click ‘here’. To log out of the allocations tool, click ‘here’.

‘My Activity’ will show your activity on this new tool, initially only showing the allocations you have made. As you continue to use this feature, the allocation activity may be across a few pages. Click on any row to summarise the number of offences allocated and deallocated, along with their corresponding number of workspaces. This activity can be filtered and searched by clicking ‘here’. Results can also be sorted by selecting an option ‘here’.

On this page, hovering over any button in the allocation tool displays a tooltip explaining what each button does.

To get started, you select the workspaces you want to allocate from. Clicking the ‘Select Workspaces’ button gives a dropdown list of workspaces you have permission to view. Use the ‘search bar’ at the top to find workspaces more quickly. ‘Tick’ this checkbox to hide any empty workspaces from the list. ‘Tick’ this checkbox to include or exclude any users with offences already assigned in the selected workspaces.

Next, you will need to select what users you want to include in the allocation. Users can be added by either selecting them individually or by selecting a permission group. Selecting a permission group will add all users currently assigned to that group.

Once the workspaces and users are selected, they will be displayed by default like this. To change how the selected workspaces and users are displayed, use the ‘Switch layout’ button and the columns drop-down. You can move any workspaces or user positions in the grid by using the arrow buttons here. Clicking the ‘X’ will remove that workspace or user from the grid.

On each workspace in the grid, you can see the number of offences to be allocated here, and as you allocate offences, the number that are ‘left’ will update.

To start allocating offences input the number of offences you want each user to have by entering the number here. The up and down arrows to the right of the number can also be used.

If you want to give every user the same number of offences, click this settings button, and you can allocate to ‘all’.

We have created some helpful buttons above each workspace to assist in allocating offences. This button will distribute unassigned offences, so each user ends up with the same number of assigned offences. Use this button to split unassigned offences evenly between all users, adding to any existing offences already added to that user. Use this button to clear all allocated offences on the grid, which will subsequently unassign those offences. Finally, use this button to revert all users to their original assigned totals and start over.

Once all offences to be allocated have been distributed, you will see a message advising “all allocated”. If you try and allocate more offences than are available, you will see this overallocated message, so you need to adjust the offence numbers until you see “all allocated” again.

Offences can be allocated either by the oldest offence date or the oldest document date first. To change these options, use this button.

Users can be excluded from specific workspaces or from all workspaces. To do this, click the button here on the individual workspace. Once it turns red, it will exclude that user from that workspace, essentially freezing them from any changes. Click the button here on the user, and once it turns red, you will see all workspaces are now excluded from the allocation.

Once you have selected your allocation options, click the ‘Apply all changes’ button to start the allocation. This will take the offences to be allocated in each workspace and hand them out, like dealing out cards.  Therefore, the oldest offences or documents are shared amongst the team rather than all being given to the first user. Allocation times will vary by the number of offences you are allocating. You can continue working in DOME on another tab during the allocation process.

When the allocation has been completed, you will see this message, which will appear on the ‘My activity page.

Please contact us if you would like to learn more about the ‘Work Allocations Tool’ in StarTraq Dome

Posted by James Merigan
1 views

Some of our customers

Would you like to receive the latest news & updates?

Sign up to receive news from StarTraq