Managing Permission Groups (02:19)

Back to tutorials

Welcome to another Dome tutorial, this video will show you how to manage the permission groups in your system.

To access the ‘Permission Groups’ menu, click on the ‘Manage Menu’ and then select the ‘Permission Groups’ sub-menu.

Displayed in front of you will be a list of the Permission Groups already in the system. Depending on the size of your organisation these permission groups may be over a couple of pages. To find the record more quickly, use the search bar located in the top left corner of the page.

A Permission Group is a set of rules that define what level of access a user will have in the system. Each rule in the system grants the user access to that particular area. For example, managers and administrators will have a higher level of access than a regular user. Mangers may have the rule checked that allows them access to the ‘Manage’ menu, whereas a regular user may only be allowed to access the ‘Inbox’.

To create a new Permission Group, click on the ‘New’ button in the bottom left corner. A dialogue box will be displayed and ask you to enter the name of the new Permission Group.

After naming your new group, click on the ‘Permission Rules’ tab.

Displayed will be a list of the different rules that can be assigned to your group. Depending on the complexity of your systems setup these rules may be across multiple pages.

Check the rules you wish to assign to your permission group. For this example, we are going to create a permission group for a user who will only have access to the Dome’s dashboard reporting functionality. To do this we will check each rule that will give them complete access to this area.

After you have selected your rules, click the ‘Save’ button or should you wish to add multiple new Permission Groups, click ‘Save and Continue’.

To assign this Permission Group to a user, you will need to do this via the managing users sub-menu, please watch our video on managing users to see how this is done.

Editing a Permission Group is done by selecting the Permission Group you wish to edit and amending the details in the dialogue box.

To delete one or more permission groups in the system, click the radio buttons to the left of the permission groups you want to delete and click the delete button in the bottom left.

Finally, administrators may wish to export a list of the permission groups on the system. To do this simply click the ‘Excel’ icon in the bottom left.

Please contact us if you would like to learn more about managing permission groups in StarTraq Dome

You may also like

Page 1 of 2

Some of our customers

Would you like to receive the latest news & updates?

Sign up to receive news from StarTraq